AtoZChallenge: B is for Bruce Lee

Dear friends, Bruce Lee is a conscious choice for today’s post choice because I’m thrilled to showcase Bruce Lee as I’ve come to know him recently through the eyes of my bedazzled 12-year-old who can’t have enough of his movies. I never knew these facts about him when I was a 12-year-old 🙂

Did you know, for example, that Bruce Lee was a psychology major and he is attributed to some great quotes? Such as this:

The key to immortality is first living a life worth remembering.

-Bruce Lee

Bruce Lee died at a very young age of 32 but he is still remembered as the man who revolutionized martial arts. He was bullied as a young boy but later was known for his power and speed, including his one-inch punch. I was just amazed recently when my 12-year-old rediscovered Bruce Lee, revered even today, more than 40 years after his death.

So, Immortality is what I want to dwell upon today. It is what all writers seek, but, in all honesty, I never gave it a thought when I had decided to take up writing and make up fictional worlds.

Immortality is a thought that’s hard to escape, though. We all want to be remembered by our children, grand-children, our own families at least, if not by the whole world.

And, as writers, there is that iota of conscious dwelling upon the possibility of timeless immortality through our work.

Do you think of immortality?

6 thoughts on “AtoZChallenge: B is for Bruce Lee

  1. Husband is a big fan of Bruce Lee. He must have watched his movies countless time.
    I am not for immortality but yes, doing good is on my agenda and if people remember that, well, that’s a bonus 🙂

    • Hey Shilpa, I’m sure spreading happiness is always on your agenda, as is visible from your happiness blog too. Great to hear about another Bruce Lee fan 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  2. Our kids are great at reintroducing us to subjects we’ve long forgotten. Mine is taking me through wwII and politics right now. 🙂 Hmm…great question. I really don’t think about immortality or my stories living long after me. Not like the great classic writers. Did they lead ordinary or extraordinary lives and do we remember them or the stories in their books? I’ll have to ponder on that a bit. I’d rather be remembered for who I was to each person individually.

    I do like Lee’s quote – which is to live in the here and now fully and vibrantly.

Leave a Reply

