AtoZChallenge: D is for The ‘D’ word in a writer’s life

As I sat and typed away furiously, I knew this was going to be a close call. The clock was ticking, my keys were clicking, but I was nowhere close to the finish line.

But somehow the words seemed to flow better when I rushed into it. They allowed themselves to be bent and shaped better. Or was I just imagining it?

At 11.59pm, it was “now or never” time. The final call for my unthoroughly checked, last-minute copy. I sighed and let it go.

SENT. The message on my screen blinked.

I rubbed my tired eyes and yawned and stretched my aching back. I had only started this morning. Too late to start something that was due by 12 midnight!

I will never do this again I promised myself for the zillionth time. Never again will I be dead by the deadline!

Did somebody just smirk? 🙂

6 thoughts on “AtoZChallenge: D is for The ‘D’ word in a writer’s life

  1. I can so relate with this. It happens with like a gazillion times and it never stops. The hurriedness that strikes right at 11.59, can never be compared with anything!
    Good read indeed 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

  2. Oh, I can so relate to this. Somehow, I work better with deadlines looming large on my head. But I hate the unnecessary pressure and anxiety. So, though I promise myself that I will be more organized from next time, I see myself racing against the time so very frequently! *Sigh*

Leave a Reply

