AtoZChallenge: I is for Intrigue

I am on a roll ever since the intriguing book I read last Wednesday (part of my Wednesday series).

Stories do so well when they surprise the reader. What got me thinking about Roald Dahl’s The Way Up To Heaven is not the surprise at the end, but how he convinces me about it’s motivation. My thoughts about it:

a) I totally empathize with the protagonist’s motivation. Even though it was so unbelievably shocking!

b) I think Dahl came at the story backwards working his way from the end. Asking questions like : Who would do such a thing, and what sort of situations would motivate characters to behave as they did.

This leads me to think about the power of a great ending. I tend to go at stories with a beginning in mind. And I can only think of two ways that the story will end. Which is pathetic! And something I have to work on:)

It’s amazing how Dahl manages a powerful ending story after story. I’ve read three so far, and each one has been a bigger surprise. More about those stories in a later post.

To find Roald Dahl’s short stories, look up his Collection Of Short Stories.

Would love to hear how you come at a story or article or any piece of writing.

4 thoughts on “AtoZChallenge: I is for Intrigue

  1. I like to read reviews and seriously consider books friends or book bloggers I follow recommend. If I stumble across something that sounds intriguing enough, then I’ll give it a chance regardless of reviews.

    Stormy’s Sidekicks!

    @LGKeltner from
    Writing Off the Edge
    Parallels

Leave a Reply

